Accessibility View Close toolbar

Testimonials

Amber M. Brooklyn, NY

5/4/2017

Professional and friendly dentist. Lovely staff. Same day appointment. Great conversation about treatment with no pressure.

Looked the best of all the Dentists available through my insurance.

Cleaning could have been more gentle and precise. Not sure about the green walls. New office, established dentist.

Happy to go back while I have this insurance. Frustrated at the options available, want more transparency in medical insurance.


Daisy R. Brooklyn, NY

3/6/2017

Was a long time for me without go to see a dentist, someone recommended, I noticed he had a 5 star on reviews! Personally my perception and experience was excellent, he's very profesional, the staff very helpful and respectable. Really concerned about he's paciente, the location is good, clean environment, very satisfied with hem and and the staff! I will recommend; I guess he's my new dentist now! Congratulations


Nicolas S. Brooklyn, NY

1/5/2017

Just moved to Brooklyn and needed a dentist. I found that Howard Silver had the best Yelp ratings out of all the in-network options on my insurance (Healthplex Dentcare obtained through Obamacare), and decided to give him a shot. Very pleased. Modern office, new equipment, friendly and organized staff. He was thorough, professional, and nice. 5 stahz.


Jill B. Brooklyn, NY

4/29/2017

I made an appointment with Dr. Silver based on the excellent Yelp reviews he received, and now I can add another positive review to the list. From the very kind and friendly Liz at the reception desk, to Angie, who took my x-rays and helped me feel completely comfortable, to Bayo (sp?), who gave my teeth a very gentle and thorough cleaning, all of the dental staff were excellent.

When Dr. Silver examined my teeth, I knew I was in the presence of a highly competent professional. He explained everything he was doing and discussed in detail his suggestions for addressing my dental issues. He was very friendly and gentle and exuded confidence and experience.

I am thrilled to have found such an excellent dental practice and could not recommend Dr. Silver and his staff more highly.


Lana P. Brooklyn, NY

4/1/2017

I've been going to the same dentist for years, but when i switched insurance i had to find someone new (which can be a nerve-wracking experience). found dr. silver via yelp. really great service at the front desk, dr. silver is super nice and explains everything thoroughly. the hygienist did a good job with the cleaning. i'm thankful for yelp and wanted to pay it forward. will be back in 6 months!


Evan B. Brooklyn, NY

3/23/2016

I'll add to what others have said. Dr. Silver is great. I mean...I first came to him because he was close and took obamacare, haha. However, he turned out to be one of the best dentists I've ever been to. Decently easy to get appointments with (BEWARE doctors who have too many open days in my experience) Good bedside manner and good work.

I used to go in just for cleanings but a cap I had chipped a year back. I thought I was going to have to go through the nightmare of having the entire thing taken off and replaced but he just fixed the crack and it looks good as new. I was so relieved. I bet he could've soaked the insurance and gone through the whole capping thing if he wanted to get some more money...but he didn't

DEFINITELY recommend this guy!


Chip M. Brooklyn, NY

3/9/2016

Dr. Silver is THE BEST dentist in New York City. I have used his services since the mid-nineties when I was referred to him by a co-worker, even though I lived in Connecticut at the time, and have never found a more knowledgeable, skilled and honest professional than him. I have had almost every procedure he offers performed over the years, fillings, two root canals, repairs of other dentist's work, cleanings, and extractions, and find his work to be superior in every way. The quality of his work is so high, it literally borders on the artistic, and for me, has always been pain free. None of the work he has done on me has required repair or redoing in 20-plus years. Dr. Silver truly loves what he does, and it shows in his skill, use of cutting edge treatments, and the peerless integrity of his practice. He is a truly caring healthcare provider, and has accommodated me through rough financial periods when I wasn't insured, or underinsured, and is always willing to work something out. His prices are better than anyone else's (I've compared) for major procedures like root canals, crowns, etc., and he will always give you numerous price point options. Not an easy thing to find in this day and age of greed. He is a truly honest man with a great sense of humor, a gentle approach, and makes a visit to the dentist a genuine pleasure instead of the anxiety-inducing nightmare I have experienced in the past. Thank God for Dr. Silver!


Kells N. Brooklyn, NY

2/18/2016

Great dentist. Tells you like it is. No funny business.


Joshua J. Brooklyn, NY

2/17/2015

Dr. Silver is the last of a dying breed, an honest dentist. A great guy, excellent manner, articulate and friendly. He not only does a great job but he is fair and he is a really nice person.


Elly L. Brooklyn, NY

2/10/2015

I've been away from the dentist for way too long... visiting Dr. Silver was a nice re-entry into the scary world of Dentists.

The receptionist was kind and friendly both on the phone and at the office.

Office is clean and no-frills.

The hygienist was thorough.

Dr. Silver was friendly, kind, reassuring and helpful. Not a bad experience at all! I would have gone months ago if I'd known this gem of a dental office was right in my neighborhood!


Marlene G. Brooklyn, NY

11/14/2014

I've been using Dr. Silver as a dentist since he was at his old location and can honestly say he is fantastic. I'm the type of person who "hates' going to the dentist since i've had some pretty bad experiences with other dentist and yet the only dentist that always makes me feel at ease is Dr.Silver. He also has a an awesome staff! The only downside is that he works on a few patients at a time so the visit might turn out to be a long one, other than than that i highly recommend them!


A.K. Brooklyn, NY

6/15/2013

If I could give this place 10 stars, I would..

I had woken up this morning to excruciating pain in my front tooth to the point where I couldn't stop crying so I quickly did my research and called Dr. Silver's office. The dental assistant answered and immediately sympathized with me as I'm sure he could hear the pain in my voice. Without another word he told me I could come in as soon as possible. When I got there I must have waited for maybe 15 or 20 minutes and let me tell you - Never in my 25 years of life have I ever encountered a more competent and knowledgeable dentist and staff.

Dr. Silver, as well as his assistant were so comforting and reassuring that I couldnt help but smile with relief, despite having cried for much of the morning. They were so pleasant and gentle with me and the doc talked me through EVERY. SINGLE. STEP. Even at the slightest wince, he would immediately stop whatever he was doing to comfort me and readjust what he was doing so as not to cause me further pain. So attentive and genuinely concerned with my well being - I honestly felt like royalty.

I ended up having to get a root canal done and I must say, I am one lucky patient to have found this place..Dr. Silver is truly one of a kind. He was thorough, attentive, and so precise. After the procedure, he wrote up some antibiotics and pain meds for me and even gave me his personal number for any emergencies. Roughly 8 hours later, I am a new woman! The pain is completely gone (and not due to meds) and I can finally smile without cringing from discomfort.

All in all: the professionalism of this practice is bind blowing - no joke - I can't believe I'm actually saying this but after having met Dr. Silver and his sweet assistant I have never had so much respect and admiration for a dentist!!!

The prices are more than reasonable, the service EXCELLENT, and the doctor - a true and remarkable professional. I am never EVER going elsewhere and I am telling you - you will not regret coming here.

THANK YOU DR. SILVER - YOU ARE TRULY AMAZING!!!!

UPDATE: As promised, Dr. Silver called me this morning to check up on how I was doing - Its Sunday folks.. is this guy for real??? Unfortunately, I was still asleep but he left the sweetest voicem


Joshua J. Brooklyn, NY

6/26/2013

Went to Howard this morning after I found out my other dentist didn't take my insurance. I went solely on the yelp review which made me weary. But he was great, made me feel very comfortable, and didn't charge me a co pay because I already had recent x rays. I'll update after he takes out my wisdom teeth!


Jess T. Brooklyn, NY

5/31/2012

Great dentist. Affordable and friendly. Takes the scariness out of the procedure, for sure!


Andy P. Brooklyn, NY

7/14/2011

This is a long horror story with a very happy ending. A few years ago one of my front incisors broke in half, I had no dental insurance (still don't), and at the time was seing another dentist (whom I will review separately). This dentist told me that for $800 he could at least give me a root canal, post and temporary crown. Well, I showed up to my appointment with the $800 I had saved up in cash which was no small feat for me at the time and got in the chair, he performed the root canal and that was it! He informed me that if I wanted the post it would be an additional $300-$400!! I was crushed and fighting back tears on my way home, I was missing one of my front teeth for god sakes, and this guy just robbed me! I had no written agreement with the dentist and as such felt I had no recourse but to not return. So I began seeing the dentist at the William F. Ryan Center who was fantastic in his own right, did a wonderful job with cleanings and several fillings but informed me that sadly, they were not equipped for the procedure I would need to fix that tooth. instead he wrote me a referral to NYU dental School... and the nightmare resumed. It was patently obvious they were trying to pass me off to as many students as possible for "experience" at NYU. I was told my root canal would have to be redone, I would need a process called "Crown Lengthening" and then the post and crown all at a total cost to me of $2,500 and 6 months worth of time!!! It was at that point I just decided to have the remnants of the tooth pulled and get a denture until I could afford an implant (at roughly the same cost NYU quoted me for the root canal) So I made an appointment to have it extracted, luckily when I showed up I was informed there were no students there that day experienced enough to extract the tooth!! So they sent me home. Which leads me to the present...

I am getting married in a month and was determined to do something about this tooth before that time. So I visited Dr. Silver yesterday on the glowing recommendation of a close friend. I kept my expectations in check as a result of my previous experiences and expected a series of appointments or perhaps just an extraction. After having one quick X-ray by a friendly tech. Dr. Silver came in and introduced himself. He was friendly, honest and direct. He listened to all my concerns and backstory and expressed sympathy for all the crap I had been through. He next informed me, that my root canal was just fine and he could start the procedure immediately! He told me the whole procedure would cost $1,050 (less than HALF of what I had been quoted by anyone else) and he could send me home that day with a post and temporary crown! Needless to say I was overjoyed at the news. He gave me a great looking crown within 2 hours and my permanent should be finished and in place in 2 weeks!

Silver had a great, direct, no hassle, no-BS approach, he is friendly but above all trustworthy, honest and thorough. The attention he and care he took crafting just my temporary crown did not go unnoticed by me. His dedication and love for his work shows through in it's quality. Thanks to him I in a few weeks I will be married with a full set of teeth. For that I am incredibly grateful. He will have all my return business and any referral I can possibly send his way.

Thank you so much Dr. Silver!


Irina Z. Brooklyn, NY

9/15/2011

I was recommended to Dr.Silver by MANY people in the neighborhood and Im so glad I went. Just came back from a cleaning but came in originally because I thought it was time to take out my wisdom teeth. He flat out told me I dont need to take them out unless they were bothering me. There are dentists out there that would do what you ask just to charge for it. He is NOT that kind of dentist. He prides himself in making people happy, not making that extra penny(Im sure he does well without it, he is a dentist after all).

I have already recommended him to my best friend. I recommend him to you too.


Andy P. Brooklyn, NY

7/14/2011

This is a long horror story with a very happy ending.

A few years ago one of my front incisors broke in half, I had no dental insurance (still don't), and at the time was seing another dentist (whom I will review separately). This dentist told me that for $800 he could at least give me a root canal, post and temporary crown. Well, I showed up to my appointment with the $800 I had saved up in cash which was no small feat for me at the time and got in the chair, he performed the root canal and that was it! He informed me that if I wanted the post it would be an additional $300-$400!! I was crushed and fighting back tears on my way home, I was missing one of my front teeth for god sakes, and this guy just robbed me! I had no written agreement with the dentist and as such felt I had no recourse but to not return. So I began seeing the dentist at the William F. Ryan Center who was fantastic in his own right, did a wonderful job with cleanings and several fillings but informed me that sadly, they were not equipped for the procedure I would need to fix that tooth. instead he wrote me a referral to NYU dental School... and the nightmare resumed. It was patently obvious they were trying to pass me off to as many students as possible for "experience" at NYU. I was told my root canal would have to be redone, I would need a process called "Crown Lengthening" and then the post and crown all at a total cost to me of $2,500 and 6 months worth of time!!! It was at that point I just decided to have the remnants of the tooth pulled and get a denture until I could afford an implant (at roughly the same cost NYU quoted me for the root canal) So I made an appointment to have it extracted, luckily when I showed up I was informed there were no students there that day experienced enough to extract the tooth!! So they sent me home. Which leads me to the present...

I am getting married in a month and was determined to do something about this tooth before that time. So I visited Dr. Silver yesterday on the glowing recommendation of a close friend. I kept my expectations in check as a result of my previous experiences and expected a series of appointments or perhaps just an extraction. After having one quick X-ray by a friendly tech. Dr. Silver came in and introduced himself. He was friendly, honest and direct. He listened to all my concerns and backstory and expressed sympathy for all the crap I had been through. He next informed me, that my root canal was just fine and he could start the procedure immediately! He told me the whole procedure would cost $1,050 (less than HALF of what I had been quoted by anyone else) and he could send me home that day with a post and temporary crown! Needless to say I was overjoyed at the news. He gave me a great looking crown within 2 hours and my permanent should be finished and in place in 2 weeks!

Silver had a great, direct, no hassle, no-BS approach, he is friendly but above all trustworthy, honest and thorough. The attention he and care he took crafting just my temporary crown did not go unnoticed by me. His dedication and love for his work shows through in it's quality. Thanks to him I in a few weeks I will be married with a full set of teeth. For that I am incredibly grateful. He will have all my return business and any referral I can possibly send his way.

Thank you so much Dr. Silver!


johnnie u. Brooklyn, NY

4/18/2011

Dr Silver is a great guy and trustworthy. He's practical and friendly and the staff in his office are some of the nicest I have encountered. I came to see him with a mouthful of broken teeth after a bike accident and they patched me up, help me find referrals when I needed them, and were all around very cool to me. This is especially great since I am absolutely terrified of dentists!


noel w. Brooklyn, NY

5/30/2011

Dr. Silver is honest, friendly, and communicates well. He didn't try and upsell anything. Most importantly, he did a great job cleaning my teeth. The rest of his staff is also friendly and helpful. I highly recommend Dr. Silver


Sigrid G. Brooklyn, NY

6/17/2011

Very satisfied with Dr. Silver. I appreciate his long experience, expressed by his clarity. At no time have I felt he was trying to create extra business in my mouth. On the contrary, I feel he has seen it all and continually tweaks his practice for best quality of care. For desperate souls like me who tried Superglue to replace an aged crown rather than miss work, I received no lecture when he recognized the material, apparently a classic self-treatment. He just moved on with a joke and good explanation of current dental adhesives. I chose to follow up later with a full checkup appointment which revealed no issues, no alarms, but the same intense focus from the Dr. as for my emergency care.


Preethi C. San Francisco, CA

10/28/2008

Best dentist ever - I'm afraid to write this review because I hope it doesn't make it harder for me to get an appointment (that's how much I like this dentist).

I had to have a root canal earlier this year and Dr. Silver made the process as easy as it could possibly be. His staff is also very sweet.

Highly recommended!


J W. Brooklyn, NY

7/23/2010

Great dentist. I was able to get an appointment at a day's notice, and all the staff were lovely, especially the nurse who took my xrays.

Dr Silver was very friendly, explained things clearly and threw out a few jokes too. He even stopped by my exam room when he was with another patient to apologize for the wait.

The only reason this isn't a five star review is that I had to wait for about an hour past my appointment time to get seen by Dr Silver. Not to worry- Jerry Springer was showing on the TV in the waiting room.


Susan L.

2/17/2015

Dr. Silver is the last of a dying breed, an honest dentist.

A great guy, excellent manner, articulate and friendly.

He not only does a great job but he is fair and he is a

really nice person


Amber M

5/4/2017

Professional and friendly dentist. Lovely staff. Same day appointment. Great conversation about treatment with no pressure.

Looked the best of all the Dentists available through my insurance.

Cleaning could have been more gentle and precise. Not sure about the green walls. New office, established dentist.

Happy to go back while I have this insurance. Frustrated at the options available, want more transparency in medical insurance.


Anonymous

4/1/2017

i've been going to the same dentist for years, but when i switched insurance i had to find someone new (which can be a nerve-wracking experience). found dr. silver via yelp. really great service at the front desk, dr. silver is super nice and explains everything thoroughly. the hygienist did a good job with the cleaning. i'm thankful for yelp and wanted to pa


Nicolas S.

1/5/2017

Just moved to Brooklyn and needed a dentist. I found that Howard Silver had the best Yelp ratings out of all the in-network options on my insurance (Healthplex Dentcare obtained through Obamacare), and decided to give him a shot. Very pleased. Modern office, new equipment, friendly and organized staff. He was thorough, professional, and nice. 5 stahz.


Anonymous

4/29/2016

I made an appointment with Dr. Silver based on the excellent Yelp reviews he received, and now I can add another positive review to the list. From the very kind and friendly Liz at the reception desk, to Angie, who took my x-rays and helped me feel completely comfortable, to Bayo (sp?), who gave my teeth a very gentle and thorough cleaning, all of the dental staff were excellent.

When Dr. Silver examined my teeth, I knew I was in the presence of a highly competent professional. He explained everything he was doing and discussed in detail his suggestions for addressing my dental issues. He was very friendly and gentle and exuded confidence and experience.

I am thrilled to have found such an excellent dental practice and could not recommend Dr. Silver and his staff more highly.

Testimonials

  • "This place was great. I haven't felt this good for a long time. The staff is very attentive, organized, and friendly!"
    Miguel
  • "Quick and reliable service. I will definitely be recommending this to friends!"
    Amy
  • "I've been suffering from back pain for 6 years. Dr. Roberts is a miracle worker!!"
    William

Join Our Email List Today!